Cuba flag

Capital: Havana

Population: 11.2 m (2013)

Language(s): Spanish

Demonym: Cuban

President/Premier: Raúl Castro

First Vice President: Miguel Díaz-Canel

Currency: Cuban Peso (CUP) & Cuban Convertible Peso (CUC)

Area: 109,884 km2 (42,426 mi2)

Dialing Code: +53

Electricity Adapter: 110 V/220 V, 60 Hz, Plug Types A, B, C, & L

Time Zone: Cuba Daylight Time UTC -5


The Republic of Cuba is an island nation in the Caribbean, with the United States (Florida) to the north, Bahamas and Mexico to the west, the Cayman Islands and Jamaica to the south, and Haiti and the Dominican Republic to the southeast. With over 11 million inhabitants, it is the most-populous nation in the Caribbean region. Despite its socialism and communism, the country excels in many fields; it has one of the highest literacy rates and longest life-expectancy rates in the world. Havana is the capital and largest city.

Key Cities & Regions


Related Articles