Dominican Republic

flag Dominican Republic

Capital: Santo Domingo

Population: 9.45 m (2010)

Language(s): Spanish

Demonym: Dominican

President: Danilo Medina

Vice President: Margarita Cedeño de Fernández

Currency: Dominican Peso (DOP)

Area: 48,442 km2 (18,704 mi2)

Dialing Code: +1-809, +1-829, +1-849

Electricity Adapter: 120 V, 60 Hz, Plug Types A / B

Time Zone: Standard Time Caribbean (UTC-4)


The Dominican Republic is an island, well, half of an island-nation in the Caribbean Sea; it shares the large island of Hispaniola with Haiti, its neighbor to the west. It is the second-largest Caribbean nation after Cuba, in both population and area.

The Dominican Republic constantly gets bombarded with tourists looking to laze upon its picturesque, white, sandy beaches. However, for the traveler looking to take in a bit of that Latin American culture that defines the Dominicans, you won’t have to look far to get away from the tourist traps and start diving into the local scene.

Other than the jagged cliff lines and palm-studded beaches that DR is famous for, the inner portion of the island is quite rural in nature. This is a great place to head to try some of the best foods that the country has to offer, as well as to glimpse an often-overlooked natural beauty that’s waiting just around the corner.

Santo Domingo is the capital and largest city of the Dominican Republic, as well as the oldest European city in the Americas (continuously-inhabited), having been founded in 1496 by Christopher Columbus’s brother, Bartholomew. Because of this, it has a rich history and culture that is just begging to be shared, and the city’s ample museums and galleries will help paint a picture of just what life was like in the early days.

Country facts put together in collaboration with sister site 6pt5. Language guides and more can be found on Shishek.

Key Cities & Regions

Santo Domingo (Capital & Largest City)

Punta Cana


Puerto Plata

Santa Barbara De Samana

Santiago de los Caballeros


Rio San Juan

Related Articles