Flag Ecuador


Population: 15,223,680 (2011)

Language(s): Spanish, Kichwa, various regional

Demonym: Ecuadorian

President: Rafael Correa

Vice President: Jorge Glas

CurrencyUS Dollars ($) (USD)

Area: 283,561 km2 (106,889 mi2)

Dialing Code: +593

Electricity Adapter: 120 V60 Hz, Plug Types A / B

Time Zone: ECT (Ecuador Time/GALT (Galapagos Time) (UTC −5/−6)


Ecuador, officially the Republic of Ecuador, is a country in western South America. It is bordered by Colombia on the northeast, Peru on the east and south, and by the Pacific Ocean to the west. Ecuador also includes the Galápagos Islands in the Pacific, about 1,000 km (620 mi) west of the mainland. Ecuador gets its name from the equator, which it straddles. Quito is the capital, and Guayaquil is the largest city.

Country facts put together in collaboration with sister site 6pt5. Language guides and more can be found on Shishek.

Key Cities & Regions



Galápagos Islands

Related Articles