England, United Kingdom

England Flag


Population: 53,012,456 (2011)

Language(s): English, Cornish

Demonym: English

Queen: Elizabeth II

Prime Minister: David Cameron MP

Currency: Pound Sterling (£)(GBP)

Area: 130,395 km2 (50,346 mi2)

Dialing Code: +44

Electricity Adapter: 230 V, 50 Hz, Plug Type G

Time Zone: Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) UTC+0/ Summer: Western European Summer Time (BST/British Summer Time) UTC+1


The United Kingdom consists of four constituent countries: England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. England is the largest portion of the United Kingdom, as well as the southernmost and the easternmost. Located on the island of Great Britain, it is separated from Ireland by the Irish Sea and the Celtic Sea; it is separated from mainland Europe and France by the English Channel to its south.

When people think of the UK, often they consider England foremost, and this is not so hard to see why: the English language is the language of the entire UK (and really the world, for that matter), London is the capital of England as well as the UK as a whole, and the island it sits on, Great Britain, is usually confused with England.

England is an idyllic land; London is one of the great cities and most-touristed, but England has much more than that to offer: rolling hills, mountains, beaches, pastures and farms, ancient sites and archaeological digs, all sorts of architecture, and quite a bit more.

Country facts put together in collaboration with sister site 6pt5. Language guides and more can be found on Shishek.

Key Cities & Regions

London (Capital & Largest City)

Manchester | Leeds

Birmingham | Bradford

Bristol | Cambridge

Oxford | Sheffield

Newcastle upon Tyne

<-Back to United Kingdom

<-Back to Europe

<-Back to Destinations

Related Articles