London, England, United Kingdom

Big Ben London
Taken by Wiki Commons user Alvesgaspar.

Population: 8,416,535 (2013)

Language(s): English

Demonym: Londoner

Area: 1,572 km2 (607 mi2)

Dialing Code: +44

Electricity Adapter: 230 V, 50 Hz, Plug Type G

Time Zone: GMT, UTC+0/ Summer: Western European Summer Time (BST/British Summer Time) UTC+1

City facts put together in collaboration with sister site 6pt5. Language guides and more can be found on Shishek.


London is the capital city of England and the United Kingdom; England is a constituent country of the U.K. London is the largest city of the U.K., and it has the largest metropolitan area in the United Kingdom, and the largest urban zone in the European Union, according to most measures.

But enough with the stats. London is a city that no person should miss. It is the only city alongside New York City ranked as an Alpha++ Global City, and there’s absolutely no wonder why. London has everything. Food, culture, politics, diversity, sports, fashion, finance, art, architecture, history, entertainment – you name it, “The Big Smoke” has got it.

The city’s 8 and a half million residents are spread across 32 city divisions, called boroughs; there are 12 boroughs that make up Inner London, plus the City of London, and 20 more boroughs that make up Outer London.

City of London (not a borough, but considered part of Inner London)

Inner London Boroughs:

Camden, Greenwich, Hackney, Islington, Hammersmith and Fulham, Kensington and Chelsea, Lambeth, Lewisham, Southwark, Tower Hamlets, Wandsworth, and Westminster

Outer London Boroughs:

Barking and Dagenham, Barnet, Bexley, Brent, Bromley, Croydon, Ealing, Enfield, Haringey, Harrow, Havering, Hillingdon, Hounslow, Kingston upon Thames, Merton, Newham, Redbridge, Richmond upon Thames, Sutton, and Waltham Forest

Learn & Explore

Related Articles