Northern Ireland, United Kingdom

Capital: Belfast

Population: 1,841,245

Language(s): English, Irish, Ulster Scots

Demonym: Irish, Northern Irish

Queen: Elizabeth II

Prime Minister: David Cameron MP

Currency: Pound Sterling (£)(GBP)

Area: 13,843 km2 (5,345 mi2)

Dialing Code: +44

Electricity Adapter: 230 V, 50 Hz, Plug Type G

Time Zone: GMT, UTC+0


The United Kingdom consists of four constituent countries: England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. Northern Ireland is the smallest part of the UK, contributing only about 3% of its population. It shares a border with the Republic of Ireland, to its south.

Northern Ireland Flag

*Note – Northern Ireland has not had its own flag for a while. However, the flag pictured below is called the St. Patrick’s Saltire, and it is often used to represent the country. 


Country facts put together in collaboration with sister site6pt5. Language guides and more can be found on Shishek.

Key Cities & Regions

Belfast (Capital & Largest City)



<-Back to United Kingdom

<-Back to Europe

<-Back to Destinations

Related Articles