Wales, United Kingdom

Wales Flag

Capital: Cardiff

Population: 3,063,456 (2011)

Language(s): Welsh, English

Demonym: Welsh

Queen: Elizabeth II

Prime Minister: David Cameron MP

Currency: Pound Sterling (£)(GBP)

Area: 20,779 km2 (8,022 mi2)

Dialing Code: +44

Electricity Adapter: 230 V, 50 Hz, Plug Type G

Time Zone: GMT, UTC+0


The United Kingdom consists of four constituent countries: England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. Wales is bordered by England to its south and west, and the Irish Sea to its east, across which sits Ireland and Northern Ireland.

Wales is arguably the most unknown of the United Kingdom’s states. Full of mountains and valleys, as well as quite a long expanse of coastline, Wales offers plenty for the outdoorsy enthusiast. It is also quite an old land, with castles and other sites and monuments dating all the way back to the Roman times; with so many castles, it is nicknamed the “castle capital of Europe.”

Wales offers a unique sightseeing experience with its network of steam-engine trains. These narrow-gauge trains cut through the mountains and along the sea to provide a wonderful perspective of the land.

Cardiff is the capital and largest city of Wales. The city itself offers many items of interest, from the gargoyles on the Cardiff Castle to many world-class museums. End the day with pleasure in one of the numerous bars along the waterfront at Cardiff Bay.

Country facts put together in collaboration with sister site 6pt5. Language guides and more can be found on Shishek.

Key Cities & Regions

Cardiff (Capital & Largest City)




<-Back to United Kingdom

<-Back to Europe

<-Back to Destinations

Related Articles